“How’d you put that together”: Taliah

Yes, this woman is FLY and when I say that I say it with confidence. I make it a point to visit as many other blogs as I can everyday. There are a few that no matter what time a day it is, if I get a new post email I just have to check it.  Fashion Was Here is certainly one of those blogs. Taliahs dope style is always on point. Whether she  is wearing a plain white top or a pretty printed bottom, I am always excited to see what’s new on her blog because there is always an unexpected twist, yes ma’am! Not to mention she is currently in the running for ‘Best personal style blog’ for the upcoming Style Bloggers of Color awards coming up in June! I totally agree with this nomination, so if you love her style as much as I do make sure to vote for her here.

Get into how she put this fab look together:
1. How did you put your look together?

I focused my look around my skirt because it is the most striking piece. The print of the skirt is very bold and I love the African-inspired flair it gives. I wanted to tone it down with solid colors for a classier vibe, especially since the skirt is short. I felt like the jacket was a perfect addition to the skirt due to its safari like style. The silk, pleated blouse was a good contrast to the rougher textures. My black pumps also had like a satin feel so I loved how they pulled the whole look together. To top it all off, my maroon wide brim hat made the outfit a bit more dramatic but also brought your eyes back to my skirt.

2. How would you describe your personal style?

Modern meets vintage. I am all about balance when it comes to my style but it also depends on my mood. I love to celebrate femininity in my wardrobe choices with a bit of edge.

3. What advice would you give someone who would like to achieve this look?

Make sure you have balance in an ensemble like this. Try to find a bottom that has interesting or bold colors and highlight at least 2 colors with your other pieces. Playing with different fabrics is a great way to show versatility and add depth to an outfit.

4. Where did you purchase the items you are wearing?

My hat: Good Will, top: Loehmanns, skirt: H&M, jacket: Filene’s Basement, shoes: BCBG store, clutch: Louis Vuitton store.

If you have any additional questions about this stylish ensemble please contact Taliah at taliahferguson@gmail.com and visit Fashion Was Here for more style inspirations!

**Do you have a favorite blogger or stylish individual who you would like to ask, “How’d you put that together?” Email me at ohchicfancyhuh@yahoo.com with your suggestions and/or requests and lets get them featured!**

Peace Love Style,

Dominique


2 thoughts on ““How’d you put that together”: Taliah

  1. Pingback: Friday Randoms & Discoveries |

Leave a Reply

