Floral Fold Over

Last week I was browsing through the April issue of Lucky magazine and I ran across an amazing dress from the Proenza Schouler spring 2012 collection. Since then I have been totally smitten with it. I am especially inspired by the pinning technique used to create a fold over look. This pinning technique was used a few times throughout the collection, all in slightly different shapes and I am totally in love with it. Of course the over $2,900 price tag was totally out of the question so I rummaged through my closet to see if I had anything that could be manipulated in the same way as the Proenza Schouler dress.

To my surprise I found a floral fit and flair dress I purchased last spring that worked perfectly for the recreation I had in mind. I pulled the flair skirt out, folded it over and pinned it near the center of the dress to create the fold over effect. I also added a little extra touch of cuteness by creating a high low hem line that I think worked out quite nicely.

The dress came with a matching floral belt that I used to help tie the look together. I finished the dress with a pair of nude gladiator sandals to bring a slight edge to the soft look of the floral dress.

Yayyy, to my first outfit post in a while. I finally purchased a tripod and used this shoot  to try it out. Not bad, but I will definitely be working on perfecting the use of my tripod to get more detailed pictures.
Thanks for stopping by! Happy Monday!

Peace Love Fashion,

Dominique

5 thoughts on “Floral Fold Over

Leave a Reply

