My Style Tips: When in Doubt

What may seem easy for some may not be as easy for others, and when it comes to fashion this statement certainly holds true. When women ask my opinion on what they should wear when they need a quick, comfortable yet stylish option I always tell them, “when in doubt wear a dress”.

Style Tip #6: When in doubt, Wear a dress

A dress is the most versatile piece a woman can have in her closet. It can go from casual to dressy in the matter of minutes with just a quick switch of accessories, shoes, hair and make up.

Dresses cut out the headache of trying to find  separate pieces to create a full look and they also give you a great canvas to show off your own personal style.

When I am out looking for dresses I put them in two categories.

Category #1 Plain Jane with a sprinkle of Me!

This category represents the type of dress that allows me to have a bit more creative  control of my look. It is a plain dress in a silhouette that embodies my personal style and can easily work in any atmosphere from a day in the park to a morning in church. It allows me to add my favorite type of accessories, shoes and hair to make it my own. Take a look at the example below.

1 Dress, 2 Ways

Category #2 Me all wrapped up in one little Package!

This category represents the type of dress that comes ready-made with everything I need to express my personal style. This dress dictates how it should be styled based on its design. It is the easiest category in my opinion because it comes with low styling maintenance. It is the show piece so sometimes accessories aren’t needed and it can be worn as is and still make a statement. Yet it still allows you options for both dressy or casual looks. Example:

1 dressy dress, 2 ways
The styling possibilities are endless when it comes to wearing a dress. These looks can easily be winterized by adding a warm pair of tights and your favorite coat. So when you feel like you have no idea what to wear just put on a dress and make it your own! 🙂
Peace Love Fashion,
Dominique
4 thoughts on “My Style Tips: When in Doubt

  1. you are on point with this one! dresses are my preferred garment for spring/summer. they’re so versatile and can easily transition from one season to the next. i’ve been seeing sweater dresses everywhere and i think i’m gonna give them a try this winter. i would love to get my hands on the brown wrap dress above!

Leave a Reply

