My Personal Style Journey: Taking it to the Source!

For some it can be easy to answer the question, “How would you describe your style?”, but for others it may not be as simple. In my very first post about My Personal Style Journey I answered the question directly. However, for the past few days I have been wondering where exactly did I get my style from? I  figured it was time to get down to the source of it all!

I grew up in south florida with a diverse group of siblings, I say diverse because we were/are all so different. Juaneka, the oldest was the loud, dominant, caring and demanding sibling. I, Dominique, being the middle child was the weird one, quiet, shy, observant and submissive. Nekeshia, the baby was the outgoing, vibrant, semi-crazy, kind-hearted one. As you can probably tell our home was always very interesting, to say the least. In south florida we were surrounded by palm trees, warm winters, steaming hot summers, beaches and a rainbow of various nationalities, mostly of Caribbean decent. However, these things only have a small part to do with my personal style.

As a little girl I was (still am) obsessed with any movie that was about the life of a famous singer or performer. I would sit and watch those types of movies all day if I could. I loved the fashion in those movies because they were so different from what I saw on a day-to-day. Now that I’m, older I see just how much those movies inspired my style. I thought back to when I was in 5th grade, it was Halloween and the teacher told everyone to come dressed up in costumes. When most of the students showed up in your typical princess and witches costumes I came dressed up as Josephine Baker, lol. I wore a red 1920’s inspired dress with a gold sequined detail at the neckline and a faux fur scarf. No one knew who I was and even when I told them they still had no clue. That memory always makes me laugh and feel good inside because it is the source of my love for the glamorous, easy, elegant, tailored style of the old hollywood fashion era, with pops of color here and there (stemming from my south Floridian upbringing).

The lovely Josephine Baker

When developing your personal style it is important to first understand who you are and why you are that way. Take it to the source of what influences the way you want to present yourself to the world.

Think back to when you were growing up, do you have a memory of what could be the source of your style influence?  Leave me comments! I would love to hear your stories:)

Peace Love Fashion

2 thoughts on “My Personal Style Journey: Taking it to the Source!

Leave a Reply

