Day 1: New York Fashion Week Spring/Summer 2012

Today marks the first day of Mercedes-Benz New York Fashion Week and I couldn’t be more excited! I don’t have my face in the place but I have my eye on the shows. For the next couple of days I will be examining all of the shows that I can get my eyes on and reporting back all of my favorite looks.  Today I was able to get a look at a few interesting shows including Nicholas K, BCBGMaxAzria, Richard Chai, and Tadashi Shoji and I have been very impressed with what I have seen! Let us take a look:

Nicholas K

While not overwhelmed with color, Nicholas K presented a very cool and casual chic show. I love the easy free-flowing movement of the clothes and the overall wearable appeal of the separates.

BCBGMAXAZRIA

BCBGMaxazria brought on the color I was waiting for. They show was mainly filled with color blocked panel dresses that were simplified with neutrals or turned up with an Aztec inspired print. I loved the color shock the separates brought on. I really fell in love with this collection. Definitely wearable.

Richard Chai

Fun and Chic are the words I would use to describe this show. I really loved the mixing of the prints and the layering technique. The colors were also another highlight of the show. They were bright, but not overwhelming, very luxurious and  kind of reminded me of sorbet, smooth and creamy 🙂

Tadashi Shoji

This collection was filled with beautiful dresses mid and full length. The silhouettes were reminiscent of tulip flowers, as they were the inspiration for his show. If you are in need of a gown something in the spring these dresses are definite must see.

Fashion week has certainly started off on a good note. At the end of New York Fashion Week I will be doing a full analysis on all of the Spring 2012 trends. I can’t wait to see what comes next! Stay tuned!

Peace Love Fashion

Leave a Reply

